Mercedes-Benz Metris Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
2019 Metris cargo van
I'm a locksmith, I have a auxiliary battery and inverter I use to operate a key machine 120 volts 4 amps. Run time 5 hours per week. What size (watts) solar panel do I need to keep the battery fully charged. I live in a very sunny state.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
What if I used the 12 volt 15 amp RV plug on my console to charge the battery? Would this cause any problems?

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I spoke to my dealer, they said any electronic hook ups to the Metris would void my warranty. I guess I got to stick to a a solar solution.

·
Registered
305 Posts
any electronic hook ups to the Metris would void my warranty
So, you can't plug your phone charger into the 12v socket?

And "void your warranty" is the most bullcrap dishonest pile of crap ever from any car dealer. They always claim "it will void your warranty." So, some dickhead is telling you that plugging in a batter charger will void the warranty on your transmission? Your brakes? your driveshaft? When the door hinge breaks, the sliding side door jams, the dealer will refuse to fix it because you plugged in a battery charger?

That's not the way warranties work in the USA. There's no such thing in the USA as some sort blanket "void your warranty" bullcrap.

The manual (page 230 of my 2016 Metris) says you can draw 15A from that plug. So, draw up to 15A, and there's not a gosh darn thing those immoral morons can do about any facet of your vehicle warranty.

·
Banned
2,743 Posts
Warranty claims can only be denied if they are related to something you did; example: you don’t change your spark plugs at the proper time, and that causes your coil packs to burn out- they can deny that warranty claim.