Mercedes-Benz Metris Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dear all,

I have a 2016 passenger Metris, approx 70,000 miles (here in Ontario, 113,500 km), and it suddenly had a significant humming noise when driving. I'm not a mechanic--I thought it was a wheel bearing--but here's the mechanic's report:
"REPORT ON ROTATIONAL HUMMING NOISE - REAR BEARING NOISE, REQUIRES REAR DIFFERENTIAL REBUILD" They also report that all seals/gaskets are fine and the fluid is an the correct level.

Unfortunately I can't shove my problems into the lap of a dealer's warranty; probably will need to pay for this one myself. Getting a different vehicle isn't a good option; I love this vehicle and it fits our family (five kids) better than anything else we've driven. But here are some of my questions:
1. Is this quite unusual for a Metris to need rear end work so soon (70K miles)? Any suggestions on why this is? Certain driving style or something causing abnormal wear?
2. I sure hope this isn't a known weakness in this vehicle. Have you heard of it before? I am hoping to have this vehicle for years yet--so many reasons to love the Metris!
3. What questions should I ask my mechanic? Any specific things the mechanic should pay special attention to?
4. Any suggestions on a kit of the bearings? (I think the gears are all still in good shape, but the rear end hasn't been opened yet and I am not a good judge of this.) Is this a part from MB or can I get some reliable aftermarket parts?

Thanks in advance for your advice. I enjoy reading these threads but other than generally being really happy with my Metris, I don't have much to contribute!

Cheers.

·
Registered
2,218 Posts
I have never heard of a rear diff rebuild on a Benz under 400k miles or so. I’d get a second opinion. It is certainly not a known weakness on the Metris. I got 112384mi on mine as of this moment and it’s going good.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3