Mercedes-Benz Metris Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2016 126 Jupiter Red Cargo
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I just picked up my first Metris; a 2016 126wb cargo in red with alloy wheels, painted bumpers, and just 28,000 miles. It’s a salvage title, but was well repaired. I already performed an overdue service B and reset the service counter.

The paint is a bit faded, so I’ll attempt to bring that back soon.

Tire Wheel Automotive side-view mirror Car Vehicle

Wheel Car Tire Vehicle registration plate Vehicle

Wheel Automotive tail & brake light Tire Car Vehicle

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
The van was hit in the left rear. By searching the vin I was able to get the photos from the salvage auction. The hit was above the load floor and the frame.

I am an experienced auto mechanic myself. I put it up on a lift and gave it a thorough going over. There was no damage to the frame, and the repairs to the body corner were relatively well done. They put new doors and bumper on it. After the repairs to the quarter were completed they painted the side up to the drivers door, hence the fade vs no fade. It’s not two halves pieced together. I suspect a little love (clay bar, compound, polish) shown to the paint up front will bring it in line with the paint in the rear.
Automotive tail & brake light Vehicle Van Automotive tire Automotive lighting

Wheel Tire Car Land vehicle Automotive tail & brake light

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Unbelievable that they gave a salvage title for this damage. It’s really not that serious. I hope it will serve you well for long time.
I’m not too surprised. Body shops often milk insurance work for all they can and “find” additional items that keep ratcheting up the costs. So insurers find it cheaper to write off and move on. Also, this was a few years ago, before the big run up in used car prices.

I didn’t buy it from auction. I found it on the local Facebook marketplace.

·