Mercedes-Benz Metris Forum banner
1 - 7 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Hi,
I just picked up my first Metris; a 2016 126wb cargo in red with alloy wheels, painted bumpers, and just 28,000 miles. It’s a salvage title, but was well repaired. I already performed an overdue service B and reset the service counter.

The paint is a bit faded, so I’ll attempt to bring that back soon.

View attachment 21500
View attachment 21501
View attachment 21499
Did you have a chance to get it inspected by a mechanic and identify the repairs? If they cut a new half on the van you might have a lot of issues with it. Why did they issue the salvaged title? Hopefully not because of water damage. On the first photo the driver door and fender seems faded compared to the back of the van.

·
Registered
7 Posts
The van was hit in the left rear. By searching the vin I was able to get the photos from the salvage auction. The hit was above the load floor and the frame.

I am an experienced auto mechanic myself. I put it up on a lift and gave it a thorough going over. There was no damage to the frame, and the repairs to the body corner were relatively well done. They put new doors and bumper on it.
View attachment 21503
View attachment 21504
Unbelievable that they gave a salvage title for this damage. It’s really not that serious. I hope it will serve you well for long time.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Welcome to MetrisForum.

Was it inspected and retitled after repair?
Because I thought, a vehicle with salvage title was not road legal.
After a quick registration in Vermont where there’s no title requirement anything can be cleared and road legal.
On Autotrader you can find a lot of vehicles with salvaged or re-built title. State inspections are just money makers. They’re not like the TÜV in Germany.

·
Registered
7 Posts
This is far from the truth. State inspections to get a title are real.