Mercedes-Benz Metris Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
292 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've owned a Metris for less than a week now and did something I've never done before- I filed a complaint with the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

The cruise control on the Metris is a slam dunk money maker for any product liability attorney that can find a client that suffered damages, or better yet injury since that's where the big money is at, by the very poor design of the cruise control. At best, the design of the cruise control stem and its associated software is irritating and wastes gas. At worst, its down right dangerous.

Here's what I stated in my complaint: The cruise control lacks a separate On/Off switch. When the cruise control stem is pull backward, the system is turned on/engaged, which is non standard for switches. When initially turned on, it activates at the speed of the vehicle. When the cruise control is turned off, then back on (without having turned off the engine) the vehicle will either accelerate or decelerate abruptly to the previously set speed. The cruise control stem is also located near the headlight dimmer switch on the left side of the steering column, which are both similar in size and feel. At night I exited an interstate highway in MT and had the cruise control set to 75 mph. I disengaged the cruise control as I exited the freeway. On a lighted street with a 30 mph speed limit, I realized my headlights were on bright so I used my left hand to dim the headlights, which dim by pulling the appropriate stem rearward. I mistakenly pulled the cruise control stem rearward, which immediately turn on/engaged to the cruise control and began to accelerate the van to 75 mph. I quickly turned the cruise control off, then dimmed the headlights. Rapid deceleration occurs, with no brake lights, when the cruise control is set at 40 mph, turned off, then turned on/engaged at 70 mph.