Mercedes-Benz Metris Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Finally got the incentive to finish my cargo van conversion. It's not typical camper style just plushed out a bit. Can used as a sleeper but also a cool place to hang out before a concert. I tried to keep the look simple but I had no idea how complex the job really would be as it's my first time doing this sort of thing. Insulated the entire interior and borrowed the ceiling idea from another post on this forum. Glued E-Z Flex carpet to most exposed white steel and wrapped wall panels with Cordura nylon. Has 200 watts of HQST mono solar panels, a Winegard RS-3035 antenna system, a Maxxaire 6200K ventilator, BedRug floor and a Yeti 400 Lithium power cell. The van came with the metal partition so I worked with that to create the storage/video wall. LED spots and ultraviolet leds in the ceiling panel. All systems are controlled by a simple switch box that options solar or standard campsite power hookup with an off detent; no backfeeding of power is the result. Finished it off with a CouchBed. Will have to send another post for pics of the finished product as my photo files are too large.

Attachments

·
Registered
2016 Cargo converted into a camper van
340 Posts
Great looking work! I like your solar panel set up- it leaves the roof rack more usable.

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
The intent was to reduce the number of roof penetrations and allow ventilation underneath since cooler panels run more efficiently. Got a great deal on a set of used oem racks on ebay. The crossrails are rather cheap aftermarket ones but had a nice low profile when compared to the MB version.

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·