Mercedes-Benz Metris Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, I've been driving my metris van for 2 1/2 months, I drive about 800 miles a week mostly freeways, everything works on my van except the collision prevention assist feature.
I haven't heard the warning beep or seen the red indicator light come on on situations when there is a sudden stop (L.A traffic) or I'm getting too close to other cars. The icon is there all the time and the red triangle light turns on for a second when I switch the ignition to the on position. Do this only works on extreme situations, like one second before impact?
I would like to hear your experience before I take it to the dealership.

·
Registered
89 Posts
My collision avoidance system sometimes beeps at a particular mailbox that is directly in front of me as it doesn't know the road turns just before the mailbox.

·
Registered
2,571 Posts
It generally only happens when it becomes apparent you aren't doing your job as a driver. Or a mailbox with a reflector is in the wrong place.

I can go a week or two without it going off and I am a chronic massive tailgater.

·
Registered
483 Posts
I agree with Green. At times it can be pretty **** 'smart' (ie. it never seems to go off, such as your case) or slightly 'dumb' (ie. the mailbox example). About the 2nd week I had my MC I was going about 35mph on 2-lane urban road and just daydream for a moment looking near the new instrument cluster when I heard, THE BEEPS! Its very distinctive (which is good) and I hit the brake, like the feature says, I did somewhat feel there was added brake pressure. While I wouldn't say I dodged a close one, it could have been a fender bender...so I can already chalk it up as an option that already paid for itself.