Mercedes-Benz Metris Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I want to share the experience of my camper built. First a disclaimer that I am not an electrician/plumber/carpenter/engineer. There are many mis-information in the web, and please consider mine as one of them before you consult with real professionals. I learnt a great deal from many posts in this forum. Any comment and question are very much appreciated.

We are a family of four with two pre-teen boys. We do occasional camping during weekends. When the Metris first came out in 2016, I knew it’s the right vehicle for our need – a daily commuter parked in the garage, with light camping duty. I bought the van, and set out to build a camper mimicking the “Reimo Multi-style”:

The first obstacle is to get a pop-top that is rear facing. I searched around, and fortunately found Daniel from Travois in this forum. Daniel agreed to install the pop-top, and help sourcing a pair of “Neptune” Scopema seats needed for the multi-style plan. After a long wait, I finally picked up the van from Montreal last October. Besides pop-top, Travois also installed the Scopema seats, swivels for both front seats, and the windows in the mid row. Overall they did a good job (pictures 1-4. Thank you, Daniel!). This pop-top is one odd request from their normal production run, so I really appreciate their willingness to take it on. However, there were two un-foreseen complications that forced me to change my original layout: 1. The scopema seats are big. There’s not enough room to make a passable middle isle between two seats. 2. The poptop was not cut as toward the back as I originally thought, leaving 2 feet between the open and the rear, which significantly shrinks the stand-up space in the rear.